A Poetry Collection of Growing Up

Oct. 12, 2021

A Poetry Collection of Growing Up took me over a decade to write (2008 – 2020). During this time of teen angst and developing into a young adult, I wrote poems to help me cope with love, change, loss, pain, suffering, sacrifice, depression, failure, but more specifically—breakups. In summer 2018, I decided to go on a hunt for all of these poems. I had to dig through my old block phones, old computers, closets, and drawers. I collected everything I had and compiled all of it into a Word document. It was then when my heart began to ache as I realized I had to go through and read every single poem from the past twelve years. At that moment, I knew this was going to be difficult, knowing I would have to relive all of the memories of my teenage years and of my twenties.

A Poetry Collection of Growing Up will take you on the journey of the emotional struggles I went through while growing up (from the ages of 17 to 29). For me, growing up didn’t start until I discovered what love was, how amazing love could be, and how much love could hurt when it’s taken away. It was always the breakups in my life that made me discover myself just a little bit more. Who I am in this exact moment, blossomed from those breakups. If you had told me ten, five, even three years ago that I would be living in Spain and pursuing my dream of becoming a writer, I would have thought you were crazy. However, if it hadn’t been for all the breakups, all the pain, all the failure I had experienced in my life, I would never have gotten the push I needed to pursue a better self.

My goal for this poetry collection is to help others who are currently suffering through emotional pain. Whether it’s from a broken relationship, a lost loved one, a difficult change, pain is pain and don’t let anyone tell you differently. We all experience pain in different ways. But just know, on the other side of that pain, is a better, stronger you. Don’t be afraid of pain. Don’t be afraid of suffering. Don’t be afraid to love again. Because the ones who succeed, grow, and learn in life are the ones who welcome failure and pain with open arms.

I want A Poetry Collection of Growing Up to be looked at not as a failure (from all the pain I had suffered), but as a success that has blossomed from that failure. Yes, I still carry these scars with me, and I always will for the rest of my life, but these scars are what have made me…


—Patrick Johns

Now Available on Amazon



Young love. Summer lust. Hopeless futures.

Patrick Johns releases his inner angst in Stages of a Scattered Mess. This poetry collection reveals Johns’s raw emotions from his adolescence to adulthood, taking his honest thoughts from his old block phones, phone notes, and crumpled papers lying in his closet. Focusing on poems of infatuation, love, and disillusion, Stages of a Scattered Mess will have every hopeless romantic reminiscing on what could have been.

Arriving to Amazon in October 2022



Recurring nightmares. Painful scars. Heartbreaking betrayals.

Patrick Johns releases his broken heart in Stages of a BreakupFocusing on poems of denial, anger, and depression, this poetry collection portrays the struggles Johns faced from his adolescence to adulthood when he had his heart broken. Taking his honest thoughts from his old block phones, phone notes, and crumpled papers lying in his closet, Johns looks back on his own past breakups to recast his raw emotions with the touch of mature writing.

Read for free!



I Trusted You With My Heart is an emotionally raw poetry chapbook focusing on the mental struggles faced during a breakup, after years of built-up trust suddenly disappear.